Whew!

I promise that we haven’t forgotten about you! February has been a super busy month for Elysia and I and unfortunately that has meant a lack of blogging. However, I do plan on getting back on track as our brief hiatus from blogging has made me miss it more than ever. Hopefully you haven’t lost interest in our recipes and stories and will continue to check back for more updates coming your way.

Change. For me especially this month has been about change. I have wanted to update you all with what has been going on but have hardly had time to breathe, let alone find a spot where I can use the internet. Why don’t I just use the internet at my parent’s house, you ask? Well…I moved out! A couple of weeks ago I was offered a job as Assistant Manager at the Running Room in Apple Valley. Retail, yes. Boring, no. Because I love running and have worked part-time at the Rochester location for awhile now, it was pretty easy to say yes to taking this job.  The other staff and the customers are great, I get to talk about running all day, and I will be teaching learn-to-run clinics as well. Getting paid to run sounds like my idea of a good job 😉 .

Starting this job has unfortunately lead me to neglect you because I have been traveling a lot and just finally moved into my apartment on Monday. I was lucky enough to be able to stay at my boyfriend’s parent’s house while I started the job, but I never quite felt like I could concentrate on creating recipes or blogging while there. No matter how comfortable they made it for me, it just wasn’t my own kitchen so I found myself making quick meals that probably would not have been very interesting to you.  Also, I do have to work some nights so it was challenging planning some evening meals. Maybe I’ll have to create some more breakfast options for you!

Anyways, the recipe that I do have for you today is a quick sandwich idea that I came up with when I was really hungry after getting home so if you’re looking for a quick lunch, look no further! I made it for just me but feel free to multiply the recipe and have a few quick sandwich options for the week! I also served this on bread but I think that it would be even better wrapped in a collard/swiss chard/lettuce leaf as you would be able to taste the flavors even more.

Cajun Tofu Sandwich
[Serves 1]

  • 1/4 block of tofu (I used Rosewood tofu)
  • 1/2 of a small carrot, grated
  • 1/2 of a small stalk of celery, chopped
  • 1 tsp. raw Sunflower Seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 tsp. Cajun Seasoning (I used some from the bulk section of a local co-op)
  • 2 tsp. Lime Juice
  • 1 tsp. Spicy Brown Mustard
  • 1 tsp. Tomato Paste
  • 1/4 tsp. each onion and garlic powder
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 2 slices of bread/a tortilla shell/lettuce leaf

– Crumble the tofu into a bowl and add all other ingredients (except bread), mixing with a fork.

– Serve on bread of choice with some spinach and other toppings (pickles, cucumbers, sprouts…) or as a lettuce wrap.

Does anyone have any tips for me for decorating my small apartment? I’ll post some pics soon and would love any input about making the best use of a small space.

3 thoughts on “Whew!

    • Thanks! My place is in the Highland area in St. Paul. I went to the cook-off but didn’t see you! Although there were so may people that I may have just missed you. There were definitely a lot of good samples!

      • Oh man we got there like 7:45 and waited for maybe half hour and then they said they were out of sample cups… (but more were coming…soon…) we cut our losses and went across the street to Luce =)

Leave a comment