Need a little something to cool you down?

Hi everyone! I know that it has been a long time since I have posted a recipe, and I definitely have missed blogging. I’ve found it difficult lately to find the time to go to a coffee shop and write a post (it has become much harder than I imagined it would be!). Darn charging for internet… If only it was free.

The weather lately has been beautiful and I’ve been enjoying every minute of it. I have a bicycle and live near a few lakes so I have been biking or running there and enjoying the weather by laying out a blanket and reading in the sun. What have I been reading lately? Well… the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy. I won’t tell you much about it, other than it’s an interesting read (to say the VERY least). I’m sure you’ve heard plenty on the internet/radio about it, like that it has been banned in several libraries! There’s nothing like a library banning to get more people interested in a book (as if the main point of the novel wasn’t interesting enough!).

If you’ve been caught up like me in this book, or in the recent warmer days, you may need something to cool you down! Many of you know that Elysia and I taught a cooking class back in February, and Banana Ice Cream was of course our featured dessert. We made two different kinds; Moscato Infused Banana Ice Cream and the class favorite, Chocolate Peanut Butter. When you add peanut butter to banana ice cream it creates a fluffy texture sure to please! As we’ve said before, it’s super easy to make, takes little time and tastes fabulous, so give it a try!

Sorry for the lack of pictures today; unfortunately we didn’t take any at the class while we were teaching, but trust us, it’s good!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream
[Serves 2]

  • 2 Frozen Bananas*
  • 2 Tablespoons Peanut Butter (we used Trader Joe’s PB with Flax)
  • 2 Tablespoons Vegan Chocolate Chips (Chocolate Dreams is our fave brand)
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract      
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Almond Milk
  • Vegan Chocolate Syrup and Peanut Butter Cups, Optional

 – Blend the frozen bananas in a blender.

 – Add all other ingredients and blend until smooth, stopping to scrape down the sides if necessary.

– Serve Topped with Chocolate Syrup or melted peanut butter and Vegan Peanut Butter Cups.

*It’s best to remove the peel before freezing the bananas. I cut mine into three pieces usally.

 

Have you read anything good lately? I’ll be looking for something new to read soon!

1 thought on “Need a little something to cool you down?

Leave a comment