‘Running’ Errands and Baked Oats

Before I start talking about myself and the recipe that I have for you today, I just want to mention to those of you that live in the area, there is a Vegan Chili Cook-off this Saturday at the Seward Café! It’s free (with samples) and bound to be a ton of fun so you should definitely check it out.  I know I’ll be there! Here’s the site for more details: www.exploreveg.org/news/3rd-annual-vegan-chili-cook-off-this-saturday

As I have been unpacking my belongings there are random things that I didn’t realize that I have or that I forgot that I own. For instance, I have a lot of wine glasses and bowls, but no ‘regular’ glasses, and I could only find one dinner plate. I don’t have a problem with drinking water or almond milk out of a wine glass but I guess if people come to visit they’ll have to supply their own plates… or eat off of tiny appetizer plates that I do have. Oh well, at least I have a plate for myself! 😉

Other things that I have had to stock are kitchen essentials such as baking powder/soda, salt, cooking oil and a range of other items that I consider ‘start-up’ costs. I didn’t realize that I didn’t have baking powder until this morning when I wanted to make baked oatmeal (I’ve been having overnight oats lately since I don’t have any small saucepans or a microwave) so I decided that I would just pick some up on my run because there is a Walgreens nearby.

 

I ran first because I obviously didn’t want to carry baking powder in my hands the whole time and was surprised to see that Walgreens doesn’t have baking powder, just baking soda. Ugh. From there I ran to a small grocery store down the street since it was only a ½ mile longer, but I had no luck there so I continued down the street to Trader Joe’s. Well it turns out that baking powder is a ‘seasonal item’ there. Really? People don’t bake in February? Hm… Long story short, I ended up running back to my apartment, resulting in a couple extra miles for the day, and driving to Whole Foods where they of course were well-stocked. It was kind of a fun adventure (if you will), and I ended up making a delicious breakfast bake for all of you to try!

 

Raspberry Coconut Baked Oatmeal
[
Serves 1]

  • ¼ cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • ½ Tbsp Protein Powder (I used Nutribiotic Vanilla Rice Protein)
  • ¼ tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 Tbsp. Shredded Coconut (I used Let’s Do Organic Reduced Fat)
  • 1 Tbsp. Chia Powder (or ground chia seeds. Ground flax would probably work too)
  • 1 tsp. Cup-For-Cup Stevia or other sweetener
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (try Trader Joe’s!)
  • ¼ tsp. Apple Cider Vinegar (or lemon juice)
  • ½ tsp. each vanilla and raspberry extract
  • ½ tsp. Coconut Oil, melted
  • ¼ cup frozen Raspberries
    Topping:
  • 1 Tbsp. Shredded Coconut
  • ½ tsp. Coconut Oil, melted
  • ¼ tsp. Sucanat
  • ¼ – ½ tsp. Raspberry Jam
  • Pinch of Cinnamon

– Preheat the oven to 375º F and oil a small baking dish (or muffin tin).

– Stir together the milk and vinegar; set aside.

– Excluding the topping ingredients, mix all of the dry ingredients together.

– Add the extracts to the almond milk, mix with the dry ingredients and then add the coconut oil. Fold in the raspberries.

– Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes (the center should still be somewhat soft).  Meanwhile, combine the ingredients for the topping.

– After the initial bake-time, spread the topping over the oatmeal and place it back into the oven for 5 minutes. Alternatively, you could also broil the topping in order to brown the coconut. Just keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn’t burn!

– Serve with additional melted coconut or vegan margarine and a drizzle of agave nectar.

What running adventures have you embarked on (whether planned or not)?

 

Leave a Reply

