Apartment Fun

I love living by myself. I can make my green smoothies in the morning without worrying about waking someone with my Ninja, I don’t have to worry about cleaning up after myself or taking out someone else’s trash, and best of all, I can decorate however I want. When I moved in my kitchen cupboards were pretty bland. White on white with a linoleum countertop. Because of this, I decided to spruce it up a little!

I like the color green because it reminds me of living sustainably and of considering what impact I have on the environment. Eco-living, if you will. Okay maybe that sounds a little bit too hippy-ish of me but either way, I like it!

So I decided to go with this:

Every time I walk into my kitchen (especially during the day), I am greeted by a bright sight that makes me happy to cook (like I needed help with that before). My kitchen is definitely my favorite part of my apartment so I’m glad that i decided to make it my own. Also, I can share it with my friends when I invite them over for delicious vegan food!

Yes, that's a giant mushroom slice up front.

The following recipe is for you Peter! I had my friends Peter and Megan over for dinner and promised that I would try to recreate one of the dishes that I served. I call for 3/4 of a container of tofu because that is what I had when I made this, but feel free to use the whole thing. While I can’t promise that it will taste exactly the same, it is delicious and I hope you enjoy it!

Red Wine Tofu
[Serves 4 as a side dish]

  • 3/4 cup chopped onion (or you can mince them REALLY small if you have an onion-hater amongst you…)
  • 1 3/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 2 Larger Portabella Mushrooms (or one 10-ounce container), chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. Minced Garlic
  • 3/4 of a 21-ounce container of Super Firm Tofu (try Wildwood!), cubed
  • 1/2 cup Sun dried tomatoes (not the kind in oil), chopped
  • 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 tsp. each dried Rosemary, Italian Herbs, Onion & Garlic Powders
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup red wine (I used a dry red wine but choose one that you like the flavor of)
  • 2 Tbsp. Almond Milk
  • 1 tsp. Agave Nectar
  • 1/4 cup Daiya Mozzarella ‘Cheese’
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

– In a large skillet saute the onion, peppers and garlic for 3-5 minutes or until they just begin to become crisp-tender.

– Meanwhile, saute the mushrooms in a separate skillet, keeping space in between so that they do not steam.

– To the onion mixture, add the tofu, spices, nutritional yeast and tomatoes. Then add the mushrooms.

– When the mixture begins to stick to the bottom, deglaze the pan with the wine and milk and stir until the liquid evaporates. Add the agave and more wine, if necessary (or if you just really like the taste…).

– Lastly, turn off the heat, stir in the Daiya, and add salt and pepper, to taste. (Optional: after removing the food, deglaze the pan further with more wine and some nutritional yeast, salt and pepper and some more italian spices and serve on top of the dish).

– We enjoyed this with my roasted polenta, a spinach salad and some toasted artisan bread.

Before the wine and mushrooms are added.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Apartment Fun

Leave a Reply

