Grilled Truffle Tempeh

So I’m at Caribou right now and they close really soon so I’m getting this post out to you ASAP! If you don’t live in the Midwest, Caribou is a coffee chain that’s popular around here. Since I don’t have much time, I’ll just get right down to it. I wish that I could grill on a deck or patio at my apartment but don’t have one. I’ve been considering devising some sort of grill that I can stick out my window to use….but I don’t think that that is a safe or realistic option right now! Luckily though, I have George! I talked a little about my indoor grill a little in our favorite things post and still enjoy using it frequently!

Make this Tempeh. It’s delicious and goes well over a bed of spinach alongside some grilled veggies and cooked Millet. I put 2-4 servings because depending on what else you eat with it, you may want more or less. Okay. Time’s running out! Enjoy!

Grilled Truffle Tempeh

[Serves 2-4]

  • · 1 package Tempeh, steamed for 10-12 minutes
  • · 1 Tbsp. Pure Maple Syrup
  • · 2 Tbsp. Braggs Liquid Aminos (or lite soy sauce/tamari)
  • · 1 Tbsp. Truffle Oil (or sub other flavored oil – truffle is delicious though!)
  • · 1 Tbsp. Water
  • · 1 tsp. Sesame Seeds
  • · ½ tsp. Red Chili Flakes

– After (or before) steaming the tempeh, cut it into four pieces and then cut each piece widthwise so that you have 8 pieces.

– Mix together the remaining ingredients and add the tempeh pieces.

– Marinate for at least 1 hour or overnight (the longer you marinate, the more flavor you will have!).
– Grill for a few minutes on each side, or until you see grill marks and the tempeh is heated through.

Leave a Reply

