Delayed Post and Mashed Potatoes

So I tried to post this on Wednesday but the internet at the coffee shop wasn’t working so I’m finally getting it to you! Here you go:

How was St. Patty’s Day for everyone? I had a mostly fun-filled day started out by running the Get Lucky Triple 7K (AKA, half marathon) inSt. Paul. It started about two miles from my apartment so I decided to jog to the start instead of fighting traffic. It was mostly downhill to the start anyways so it wasn’t too bad (plus I was supposed to do a 15-mile long run that day anyways for marathon training)… The morning started off warmer than I’ve been used to and humid but I’m not complaining, I love the warmer weather that we’ve been having in Minnesota.

Glad to be done.

A quick race re-cap for you:

– The course was an out-and-back course, which I don’t usually care for, but it was kind of fun in this case because I got to see all of the fun outfits that people wore! There were quite a few tutus and leprechaun hats. Anyone who can wear those during a half-marathon is a lot braver than I am; I don’t think I could stand having anything on my head (like a green wig!).

– Overall, there are only two things I’d really want to change. 1. The price was pretty steep for a half-marathon. I did procrastinate, as usual, and end up paying more, but even the beginning cost was the same as many full marathons.  2. I would add another water stop. I’m sure they’re used to having cold weather during this race but I’d prefer water every two miles because the stretch between miles 5-8 and 8-11 got pretty long without water. And even if it would have been cold, water is still important!

– The volunteers were great and had plenty of water on-hand at the end to keep refilling our water cups.

– There were quite a few people near the finish cheering us on so that was great!

– There was a woman walking the course with crutches! I was really impressed with her determination, especially since the course was somewhat hilly. Way-to-go!

Overall, I enjoyed the Get Lucky half and would consider doing it again next year. After the race, I went to the Lifetime Café nearby and got a protein smoothie (they have Vegan protein powder AND soy/almond milk!) with my parents and boyfriend. Thanks for driving up to watch guys! The rest of the day was spent with friends at a cook-out, followed by a trip to the Local in downtownMinneapolisand to Town Hall Brewery. I had a great time and we definitely enjoyed the weather!

Finally, onto a recipe for you! Last summer my friends Megan and Peter got married and had a really awesome dinner buffet for everyone, including mashed potatoes served in martini glasses. I decided to make mashed sweet potatoes the other night and stole their idea for the serving glass, so this recipe is for you Megan (Peter, I haven’t forgotten about the tofu recipe for you so don’t worry, it’s coming)!

 

Tropical Mashed Sweet Potatoes w/ a Spicy Lime Gravy
[Serves 2 as a side-dish]

For the Potatoes:

  • 1 Large Sweet Potato or Yam (315g)
  • 2 tsp. Lime Juice
  • 1/8 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • ¼ tsp. Smart balance
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

For the Gravy:

  • 1/8 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/8 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 ½ – 2 tsp. Lime Juice
  • ¼ tsp. Onion Powder
  • Sriracha (optional) and Salt & Pepper, to taste

 

– Bake your potato in a preheated 425ºF oven for 25-35 minutes, or until cooked. Alternatively, you could also microwave it.

– Peel most of the skin off of the potato (or leave it on, your choice!). I usually end up eating the potato skin at this point…

– Mash the potato in a small saucepan over medium-low heat and add all other ingredients, mixing thoroughly.

– In another small pan (or in the same one after removing the potato) mix the gravy ingredients and heat until it is the consistency that you prefer (longer = thicker). Add more nutritional yeast or milk to get your desired texture.

– Top the mashed potatoes with the gravy and enjoy!

  

Did you celebrate St. Patty’s Day this year by running in a race or spending time with friends? What did you do?

One thought on “Delayed Post and Mashed Potatoes

  1. We certainly enjoyed the beautiful day that was provided for the 1/2 marathon. It was a beautiful “summer” , I mean winter day! LOL.

    At any rate, yum………….., I definitely will try this tonight, what a beautiful presentation!!!

Leave a Reply

