A Tribute to an Amazing Lady

I’ve never been someone to express the events in my personal life via facebook or twitter. If you do, I’m not saying it’s wrong, just that it’s not for me. However, our blog is different. We wanted to update you about what is going on in our lives since we haven’t been blogging much and may not be this week.

About a week and a half ago our amazing Grandmother had a heart attack and unfortunately we lost her to the disease on Friday morning. Words can’t even describe the shock, pain and anger, along with an array of other emotions that we have since experienced. For those of you who have had a loved one pass away, I know that you understand.

Our Dad and Grandma

Our Grandma was a strong and spirited woman who left her impact on those who knew her. Not only did she keep her children and grandchildren in line, but she was also constantly keeping track of our naughty Grandpa.  She was kind, loving and selfless. I know that regrets are pointless but I wish that I would have taken the time to get to know her as more than just my Grandma. Growing up you don’t necessarily think of your parents and grandparents as people with their own lives apart from where they fit into yours. As an adult now, I wish that I would have gotten to know her as one as well. I know that she knew we loved her but we definitely didn’t see her as much as we should have and took for granted that she’d always be there.

If you’re still with me at this point and want one take away message from this post; don’t take for granted your loved ones. They are individuals worth getting to know on a deeper level and they are who matters the most.

We Love You Grandma Darlene.

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to an Amazing Lady

  1. I’m so sorry you guys. I lost my Grandpa three years ago and it’s still hard. So, so true how important family is, I’ve realized this more and more the older I get. Hope to see you soon.

    (p.s. this is Kelly from CAA, not sure if you knew my blog name!)

  2. She sounds like an amazing lady. I love the wedding photo that you posted, so genuine and beautiful. I can see a little bit of her in the two of you, especially in that first photo. A piece of her is still here 🙂

Leave a Reply

