Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Polenta

Brrr! I had yesterday off so luckily I did not have to leave the house but I know that it was freezing out! Instead, I stayed inside and cooked, so lucky you 😉

I don’t have a whole lot else to say today so I thought I’d get right down to the recipe. You’ve probably seen or maybe bought pre-made polenta but have you ever made it yourself? It’s super easy both to make and to adjust to your preferred taste. I love roasted red bell peppers and sun-dried tomatoes so naturally I decided to throw them together into one dish. Polenta is also known as corn grits or course-ground cornmeal and should be somewhat easy to find in your grocery store.

Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Polenta

  • 1 cup Polenta (not quick-cooking)
  • 4 cups Vegetable or No-Chicken Broth
  • 3/4 cup Onion
  • 3 tsp. Chopped Garlic
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Roasted Red Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Sun-Dried Tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. each Dried Oregano, Basil
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 3/4 tsp. Dried Rosemary
  • 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • oil

– In a medium-sized saucepan heat a small amount of oil and then add the onions (they should sizzle when they hit the pan). Saute until translucent and then add the garlic and spices, continuing to saute for about 2-3 more minutes.

– Add the broth and bring to a boil.

– Add remaining ingredients, except Nutritional Yeast, and stir constantly for about 10 minutes. 

– Add the Nutritional Yeast and continue stirring until the polenta thickens and begins to pull away from the pan (15-20 minutes).

– At this point you have multiple options!
  – Eat as is.
  – Pour mixture into a pan and allow it to cool completely. This will thicken similarly to the pre-made kind you can buy in the store.

– You can then cut whatever shapes you choose and saute or bake them before enjoying.

– This recipe goes great dunked in a tomato sauce or by itself since it is so packed with flavor. I used it in a casserole/lasagna recipe that I will be sharing with you soon!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Polenta

  1. Pingback: Roasted Polenta Casserole | Twin Taste

  2. I look forward to trying this…looks easier than I was led to believe by my “always buy pre-made” friends! lol With the cold days here in Montana at the moment, I am looking for new nummies to whip up in the kitchen! :Good smells, good eats, happy tummy…

    Hope you have an amazing day!

    Joy from Montana

    • Hi Joy! I hope things are warming up in Montana for you. We have had a fairly mild winter here. Let u know if you ended up trying anything and what you thought if you did 🙂

  3. Pingback: Apartment Fun | Twin Taste

Leave a Reply

