Cherry Almond Banana Ice Cream

Wow the weather here did a complete 180 today. Yesterday was gorgeous for a mid-January day in MN, almost 60 degrees! I was about ready to put on my swim suit and lay out on the deck. So when I was less than excited when I woke up and saw it snowing outside my window this morning! The 20 something degree weather and the 33 mph wind gusts definitely sent me into a shock. I guess we had it coming sometime!

So as many of you know we have been taking part in the Whole Living Action Plan and are currently on week two. This week is all about reintroducing common allergens that were cut out in the beginning. Included in this list was soy, which initially was very difficult considering our love for tofu and edamame! After adding it back in these last couple of days we realized that we may be soy intolerant. It caused a bloated stomach and an overall sick feeling for us both. Seeing as that was the only change in our diet it doesn’t take a genius to realize that our bodies may just have difficulty digesting the protein. I plan on experimenting a little bit more with different forms of soy to see if it is just certain types that bother me.

The moral of this story is I am thankful for the plan! I am by no means trying to persuade all of you to give up soy but rather to become more aware of the foods you ingest. By monitoring how your body feels after eating you could greatly improve how you feel on a daily basis!

Alrighty, onto the recipe for today! Before beginning this detox I would often have a piece of chocolate or something sweet after dinner. Now that added sugar and chocolate are out of the picture for a month I’ve had to get a little more creative with my desserts.

Tonight I decided to play around with banana ice cream and give it a new twist. Feel free to change it up a bit and add your fruit of choice! I had a bag of frozen mixed fruit in my fridge so I decided on using cherries and peaches.

Cherry Almond Banana Ice Cream

  • 1/2 Frozen Banana
  • 6 Frozen Cherries
  • 2 Slices of Frozen Peach
  • 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon + some for almonds
  • 1 Tbs. Almond Milk
  • 1 Tbs. Pumpkin
  • 1/4 tsp. Vanilla
  • 6 Almonds
  • 1 Date or Prune cut into pieces
  • 1/2 tsp. Powder Stevia (optional)
  • Slightly Coarse Salt

Lightly break the almonds and spray them with cooking spray, sprinkle cinnamon and a generous amount of salt on them. Roast the almonds in the oven until fragrant then set aside to cool.

Add all ingredients up until the almonds to the food processor and process until smooth and creamy like ice cream (this make take a minute or two.) Add the stevia if you would like a sweeter treat. Now add the almonds and date or prune and pulse until combined.

This would also be delicious with a bit of dark chocolate on top!

If you like this one, try our recipe for Blueberry Banana Ice Cream as well!

Leave a Reply

