Bean Dip

Detox day five and I feel great! I’m not going to lie, the first three days were rough as I did experience headaches and was a little on edge (key signs that I definitely was consuming too much sugar and caffeine during the Holidays). However, yesterday I felt my energy levels go up and did not experience headaches anymore. One thing that has been tougher, however, is working out. I think that it’s easier later in the day since I’ve been having smoothies or juice for breakfast and need a snack or something more solid to get my muscles working. I’ve been eating more nuts lately and have a healthy bean dip for you today that works great for snacking.

I never thought that I would do a detox, as my eating habits are usually healthy and I don’t think that detoxes are for everyone. However, sometimes I need that little extra push to get me back on track, so I think that the detox has done that so far. Granted, I’m only on day 5 so we’ll see how it progresses but I actually like it so far.

For the following recipe, I used both garbanzo beans (chickpeas) and chili beans which had a kidney, black and pinto bean mixture in it. Feel free to sub in whichever kind you prefer. Also, the bean dip tastes even better the next day!

Bean Dip
[Makes about 2.5 cups]

  • 2 15-oz. cans of beans (I used Westbrae Organic Chickpeas and Chili Beans)
  • 1 tsp. lemon-flavored olive oil (or sub regular)
  • 1 tsp. dried dill
  • 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice

– Drain the beans, reserving 1/2 cup of the liquid (only do this if you use organic beans. Otherwise rinse the beans and use water or vegetable broth instead because there is a lot of sodium and other additives in non-organic beans).


– Combine all ingredients into a food processor or blender and process until smooth.
– Serve with veggies such as celery, bell peppers, carrots or whichever you prefer!

One thought on “Bean Dip

Leave a Reply

