Coconut Pumpkin Bread

Happy Halloween weekend! I have to work all weekend so will not be dressing up, but Elysia has a fun costume in store (which I’m sure she’d love to fill you in on 🙂 ). I suppose Halloween isn’t technically until Monday so, if you’re like me in the past, you still have time to decide on what you’re going to wear. I have always forgotten to come up with a costume until the last-minute so I usually end up buying whatever I can find on sale at a Halloween shop. This is definitely not the most economical way of going about it! I’m just not as creative as I wish I was when it comes to picking out costumes I guess.

I remember when we were kids, our mom would usually make or help us make costumes. I went as a princess one year and my costume was made out of a pink leotard with a tutu and lots of sequins. Man, I wish that I could go trick-or-treating again! I don’t think it would fit nowadays though….. What about you? Did you or do you make your costumes?

While the following recipe isn’t exactly Halloween-inspired, it does include pumpkin. We hope that you’re not sick of it yet! I always get emails from Runner’s World and Mark Bittman occasionally has delicious-looking recipes on there so I finally decided to try one. Well; sort of. We can never follow a recipe exactly and I wanted to increase the coconut-taste in his coconut version. Coconut flour is definitely different from regular flour. It’s gluten-free (although the spelt flour that I used isn’t) and soaks up a ton of moisture! Because of this, the first time I altered the recipe, I decreased the amount of flour overall, and did so too much. However, I fixed it in the below version and think that the bread tastes great! It looks like there are a lot of ingredients but that’s mostly because of the spices. If you like, you can replace them with pumpkin pie spice.

Coconut Pumpkin Bread (Based on Mark Bittman’s Sweet Potato Muffins)
[Makes 3 mini loaves]

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 cups Spelt Flour (or whole wheat pastry)
  • 2 Tablespoons Chia Seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 cup sucanat
  • 1/4 cup stevia (or sub more sucanat/sugar)
  • 1/4 cup smart balance
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 3 Tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract (or sub more vanilla)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice + about 1/2 cup almond/soy/rice milk*
  • 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (I used reduced fat unsweetened from ‘Let’s Do…Organic’).

– Preheat oven to 350 F.

– *In a measuring cup, add 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and then fill with your choice of milk to the 1/2 cup point (so you will have a little less than 1/2 cup milk). Allow this to sit so that it curdles.

– Melt the smart balance; then mix in the coconut oil so that it melts as well. Whisk in the remaining wet ingredients (including sucanat/sugar).

– In another bowl, combine all dry ingredients (except coconut).

– With a wooden spoon or spatula, combine wet and dry ingredients.

– Fold in the shredded coconut.

– Bake in mini loaf pans for 25-30 minutes (mine took 27); until a toothpick comes out clean.

– Remove from oven, transfer pan to a cooling rack, and let cool for 10 minutes.

– Remove bread from pans and allow to cool completely before cutting.

If you are worried about the bread drying out as it cools, create a tent out of the tin foil that you used!

It tastes great heated up with a little smart balance and a side of pumpkin spice coffee!

Question:

Are you dressing up for Halloween? Which night/s are you celebrating this year?

10 thoughts on “Coconut Pumpkin Bread

    • Kara, thanks for checking out our blog 🙂 It’s so weird to think that other parts of the country are getting snow and Minnesota isn’t! I’m sure we’ll be experiencing the same sometime soon..

      Let us know what you think of the bread; stay warm!

  1. Coconut and pumpkin? Um, hello, those are two of my favorite things! I definitely know what I’m going to be making soon :). Oh, and what kind of smart balance do you use? Have you had luck with the Light version? I know that one is vegan, but I was unsure about the normal one. Thanks!

    • We use light smart balance as a spread on bread, but in this recipe Earth Balance was used (however, we topped it with smart balance after 🙂 ). Because of the fat content in the light smart balance as opposed to Earth Balance, I’m not sure how big of a difference it would make when baking with it.

      Let us know how it turns out if you try the light smart balance instead!

  2. Is the sugar substitute for the stevia also 1/4 cup (since I know that usually the amount of stevia used in a recipe is much less than the amount of sugar).

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

